Drunkenhood and Humblepie: A Broke, Single Man’s Cookbook (Recipe #12: Mediterranean Linguine)

It’s been a long weekend. I was crazy busy with things and out a bit. Last night was St. Patrick’s Day, and though I’m part Irish (Protestant though, yes), I still didn’t do much. I did have some very strong San Francisco Beers at Pacific Standard, and on an empty stomach… so um, let’s just say, I got a little happy.

Anyway, today has been mild. I went to practice for Ferns, and we worked on some new tunes (3, in fact!) and, surprisingly, we didn’t have a drop of alcohol this time (usually we do). On the way back, I knew I had some old cold linguine from the last two recipes so I thought I’d make good use of them.

I picked up a block of feta cheese (being half Greek, I think I’d probably not refuse a feta cheese IV drip.) and a small zucchini.

Here we go…

Recipe #12: Mediterranean Linguine

Ingredients:
1. Old cold linguine that was in the fridge for a few days.
2. Block of feta cheese!
3. Small zucchini
4. Half an onion.
5. Black pepper, parsley.

Recipe:
1. Dice the onion, put over low heat with ample amounts of light extra virgin olive oil.
2. Slice up the zucchini, add to the pan.
3. Saute this stuff for a bit.
4. Have a Racer 5. Hear a little Ratatat.
5. Try to come to terms with the kind of apartment you can actually afford…
6. The zucchini and onions are a little brown now… so I”m going to add the linguine. Now, this linguine is a bit soft from being in the fridge for a few days, but should be fine. I’m going to turn up the heat on the pan a little and add the noodles, stirring frequently.
7. I’m going to have to add a bit more oil to cover the linguine. It’s sizzling nicely now.
8. Use a couple of forks to toss it around in the pan so the vegetables and noodles mix up evenly.
9. Once the pasta is warm, and the feta starts to melt in, add some black pepper (already enough salt in the feta) and toss it around a bit.
10. Serve!

The Verdict:
Delicious, or as my Yaya would say, poli oreo! Pretty dang good. Light and tasty. Great for summer! Some white wine would be good, too. Yaya would be proud!

