Drunkenhood and Humblepie: A Broke, Single Man’s Cookbook (Recipe #9: Leftover Linguine – Spicy Pad Thai Style)

I have a lot of linguine left after last night’s recipe. This is one I’ve tried a few times, and I love it!

Ingredients:
1. Bowl of cold linguine noodles from last night.
2. An Onion.
3. Olive oil, spices (black pepper, parsley, red pepper, sea salt, cinnamon)
4. Natural-style crunchy peanut butter.

Recipe:
1. Put some water in a large pot with a bunch of sea salt and a coupla drops of olive oil; bring to a boil. (Semicolon usage!)
2. Cut up one onion. Chop it up!
3. Throw the noodles in the water once it boils, just to warm and soften them up a bit.
4. Listen to Fleet Foxes and realize it took a while to come around to them but they’re pretty good!
5. Add some olive oil to a skillet, add the chopped onion. Sautee for a bit (brown and caramelized is awesome!)
6. Lament your lack of garlic.
7. Take noodles out of water, strain and rinse with cold water to stop it from cooking.
8. Add a sliver of unsalted butter to the onions. (There’s no rule against mixing oil and butter, is there?!)
9. Add a large spoonful of natural chunky peanut butter! (Chunky!)
10. Add a teaspoon of honey. (Why not?)
11. Mix it all together until the peanut butter starts to melt.
12. I added the peanut butter a bit too early, and I wanted the onions to be more cooked, so I put it on super low and am cooking it a tiny bit longer.
13. Adding a splash of water.
14. Now that it’s simmering again–there is a light brownish mixture covering the skillet–add some of the linguine noodles by hand, slowly and mix it in so they get coated.
15. It’s a little mushy, so I’m turning up the heat a little.
16. Add spices!
17. If it sticks together too much (I think because I overcooked the noodles), separate it with a fork.
18. It’s starting to snap, crackle, pop! (Don’t worry if it burns just a little, I’ve been here before! It’ll be used later!)
19. Ok, put it on a plate… now here’s the cool part!
20. With a spoon, scrape the “burnt” peanut butter bits on the bottom of the skillet (completely annoying your roommate in the process) onto the top of the pasta as a crunchy-peanut garnish! (maybe a it of parsley for color!)
21. Eat it!

The Verdict:

I cheated on this one because I’ve kind of done this before. But last few times I used regular peanut butter (not natural) and the sauce was thinner, so it was different. Also, I think because of the flatter linguine noodles, this is a lot like Pad Thai! Awesome!

