Drunkenhood and Humblepie: A Broke, Single Man’s Cookbook (Recipe #9: The Stevador’s New England Tax-Evasion)

I have to do my taxes tonight, so I’m going to do them while making something interesting here at the same time.

Recipe #9: The Stevador’s New England Tax-Evasion

Ingredients:
Two red potatoes
Linguine
Olive Oil, spices
Woodland mushrooms
One medium onion
Can of clams.

The Steps:
1. Put the potatoes into a pot with some cold water and a lot of sea salt. Boil until soft.
2. Download my tax package stuff from my CPA’s website. Get a little depressed.
3. Chop the potatoes into wedges and then boil a bit longer.
4. Slice an onion up.
5. Slice up some woodland mushrooms.
6. Avoid doing my taxes a little longer.
7. Add a good amount of light olive oil to a skillet, put on medium-low heat.
8. Add the juice from one can of canned clams.
9. Simmer entire mix until the mushrooms and onions are a bit reduced. Stir it up.
10. Add a bit of black pepper, some sea salt and parsley.
11. While that’s simmering, get some water ready to boil linguine. (Linguine is my favorite pasta of all time.)
12. Taxes.
13. Feel a little better because your roommate’s in a good mood for a change and is playing some good Talking Heads.
14. Add the clams to the mix, take of heat and let stand, covered, for a few minutes while the pasta cooks.
15. Grumble about taxes. Something about cost-basis and how New York State can suck-it.
16. Words.
17. “Bob Marley”
18. Strain pasta, serve on a plate, top with the previously cooked stuff.
19. Add salt and pepper (red pepper?) to taste….

The Verdict:

Wow! I had no idea it would be as good as it is! I was thinking, “Way too starchy. Way too dry.” but it wasn’t really. I drizzled a touch of olive oil over the top at the end, so that helped, but it was pretty dang good! Next time, though, I’d definitely add more clams, some garlic and, if I had it, use a bottle of dry white wine as the base for the sauce. The strange thing was that the potatoes broke down a little and created an almost “Alfredo Effect” and weren’t overly starchy at all. Good times.

