Drunkenhood and Humblepie: A Poor, Single Man’s Cookbook (Recipe #5: Green Taco Sidekicks!)

Tonight, I guess my band mates’ wife is making tacos. She’s a great cook and sometimes whips up amazing stuff right before a show. Or maybe she’s just ordering tacos tonight. At any rate, I figured I’d bring something along, so I’ve decided to make a side-dish. Yesterday I bought some brussels sprouts (my favorite!) and decided to cook some up! Here it goes…

1. Put a bunch of water in a Medium Sauce Pan, sprinkle some sea salt and a dash of light virgin olive oil, bring to a boil.
2. Wash hands after the subway and then rinse the brussels sprouts. Eat one or two raw. Yum!
3. Take out the brussels sprouts and cut them into halves.
4. Chop up a small onion.
5. Play The Sundays’ “Summertime” and get excited about Spring being around the corner.
6. Play a couple of moves of Words with Friends while you wait for the water to boil.
7. Have a beer (this time, Samuel Adams “Alpine Spring”).
8. Water is at a rolling boil now… put the sprouts in wait until they’re boiling again, then boil them for 10 minutes or so, until soft.
9. Play Words with Friends. Talk shit.
10. Strain the sprouts in a pasta strainer, take pan off heat.
11. Replace pan with a medium skillet over medium heat, add some light olive oil, add the onions.
12. Cook up the onions a little, then add the sprouts, some black pepper, a pinch of sea salt, a bit of water and some more oil.
13. Put on slightly lower heat, and let it stew for a few minutes, stirring occasionally. We don’t have a cover for this skillet because someone left it on the stove and it cracked the glass, so I’m using a cookie sheet.
14. Smells damn good!
15. Ask your roommate if he likes brussels sprouts? (He doesn’t).
16. Ok, they’re softish and smell great, a little browned here and there, ready to eat!
17. I’m gonna wrap them up in aluminum foil, and then put them back in the container they came in. I left all my Tupperware at work, I guess.
18. Rock! (Finish beer)

 

The Verdict: 

They didn’t go so well with tacos and tequila, but all in all, they were pretty damn tasty. There was talk of how to make brussels sprouts work as part of a Mexican dish… I’ll try that another time…

